The foundation was created in January 1982 by the descendants of the Lyon manufacturer Marius Berliet and Renault Véhicules Industriels and was recognised as being in the public interest at the time of its creation.
Philippe Charbonneaux, a respected automotive designer set up this collection in the enclosure of a former metallic workshop factory, with a surface of more than 4000 square metre in the 1980s. Following the death of Mr Charbonneaux, the S.C.A.R. association took over the museum, which now houses over 200 cars.
This 82 ha wildlife park is a perfect outing for a family: it also includes a reconstituted 1900 village, a guided tour on a tourist train, a lot of old tractors, several classic cars, hundreds of scale models, a few bicycles and motorbikes.
The fifteenth-century chateau de Sanxet is the beautiful home of twenty three cars, some of which are unique models. The chateau produces its own wine; the visitor can taste the wine and visit the underground, fourteenth-century winery.
An exceptional collection in Eure-et-Loir province, this museum features a wide range of cars made between 1885 and 1965, plus bicycles and motorbikes. There are Fiat, Simca, Licorne, Panhard cars and a nice Facel-Vega as well.